House System

Four Houses

The School is divided into four Houses. Each House depicts a scientific theme.

Bell House (yellow): named after the astronomer, Jocelyn Bell

Carson House (green): named after the environmentalist, Rachel Carson

Durrell House (blue): named after the environmentalist, Gerald Durrell

Kroto House (red): named after the chemist, Sir Harold Kroto

Heads of House

Heads of House are responsible for the organisation of House events and well being of students within their House.

  • BELL: Mr R Gillon
  • CARSON: Mr N Casley
  • DURRELL: Miss B Ashman
  • KROTO: Mr R Giblin

Senior House Leaders

There are two Senior House Leaders from Year 12 who support the Heads of House. There are also an additional four House Leaders who work with the Senior House Leaders.

House Events

There are three main House events each year – one per term.

  • House Drama - Autumn Term
  • House Music - Spring Term
  • House Sport - Summer Term

Every department organises and runs a House event during the year; please refer to the House notice boards in A and B block for upcoming events.

House Points

All events will be scored using a simple points system:

  • 1st - 8 points
  • 2nd - 6 points
  • 3rd - 4 points
  • 4th - 2 points

This applies to overall finishing positions from Years 7-11 not individual Year groups.

League tables will be displayed on the House notice boards and in form rooms.

There will also be House points awarded for attendance, commendations and environmental efforts.

Upcoming Events

15 Feb

Y9 Italy Ski Trip

15 February, 2019 – 23 February, 2019
15 Feb

Y11 New York Trip

15 February, 2019 – 22 February, 2019
28 Feb

Berlin Trip Parents Briefing

6:00pm - 7:00pm
01 Mar

Y9 Immunisations

All Day